LSP with consumers – focus groups

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Camila Borja
    Participant

Hello!
    Currently my main professional objective with LSP is to apply the method within focus groups and/or UX groups. I believe the potential is appealing due to quality and depth of information obtained during LSP sessions. Does anyone have any experience with consumers? How did it go? I am interested in exchanging information and tips on this matter!

Ine Armour-Brown
    Participant

Hi Camila,
    I’m a qualitative researcher as well as a workshop facilitator, so I get your point! I have thought quite a bit about the potential, but haven’t applied LSP in this way. What holds me back (perhaps unjustifiably?) is:
    – focus groups are made up of random individuals, who do not have 1 purpose or 1 business goal to fulfill. They just belong to the same target group for the client. LSP works best when it’s with a team, or at least with people who strive for the same thing.
    – focus groups tend to be limited to 2 (or 2.5) hours. In that time, you can only do, let’s say, a round of introductions (no-one knows each other), one building experience exercise, one for learning to give meaning, and perhaps 2 or 3 individual building exercises (largely depending on number of respondents, which should certainly not exceed 7 in my view). These individual exercises will deliver excellent personal stories, so in some market research contexts this might be just right (explorative research questions). But in many others it won’t.
    – Are you thinking of UX for a 3D product? Or UX for apps and online offers? I’d hesitate with the 3D offer: building something with LEGO might be helpful, but that’s not LEGO Serious Play.
    I’d be very interested what others have to say about this (and please tell me I’m wrong about all this, it would open up opportunities! :-)

Camila Borja
    Participant